I’ll eat you up, I love you so…

22 Sep

[this seems to be a popular post....and yet it is not nearly as interesting as my other posts. Hmm. ]

“Maybe it’s because I’ve known them since I existed, basically,” he said of the wild things, “but my feeling is that they’ve always existed as creatures in the world.”

Spike Jonze as quoted in this New York Times article

But the wild things cried, “Oh please don’t go- We’ll eat you up-we love you so!” And Max said, “No!”

I have to admit, I am beyond excited for this movie.  At least from the trailers and behind the scenes footage, it looks to be a lush adventure into childhood and the imagination.  Even Sendak himself has given the film his blessing, and was involved in every aspect of the film. He urged Jonze to take risks, and to not be afraid of the story, and letting it become something new.  Jonze made it “his without giving up mine”, Sendak said on the matter. *

Sendak’s book was not always popular, it was actually banned, got bad reviews and took a while for adults to catch on to the genius of it.  Kids loved it; it respected them, it spoke to them.  It dealt with issues like anger, disobedience, imagination and love without preaching, and was filled with a whimsical magic that drew its audiences to it.  It took children on a wild journey from the comfort of their own bedrooms, to a world where the wild things roamed, and no one could tell them what to do, while at the same time pointing out that, perhaps, that isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.   That’s what I loved about it as a child, and that’s what I still love about it.

I found the quote at the top of the post to really sum up my feelings on the book, and thought it would be nice to find out others thoughts.   So, this is more of a question post than anything else.

Have you ever felt this way about a story, or fictional character?

I grew up with the Wild Things.  My parents must have been fans of Maurice Sendak, for we not only had the book and a  wild thing doll, but my parents also owned a fairly large art book by Sendak, that I used to spend hours looking at.  I was even surrounded by things influenced by Sendak, for example the movie Labyrinth, and the art book that accompanied it.  So, what is it about that story that was so captivating to us?  I’m not sure I have an answer, except that maybe we all see a little Max in us.  I know I do.

*quote and facts taken from the Warner Brothers behind the scenes video clips.

4 Responses to “I’ll eat you up, I love you so…”

  1. bernardo moraes September 27, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    I haven’t read the book yet. I even think it has never been published in Brazil. I know that will be a printing as soon as the movie is released. But I’ve seen the trailers and it looks great. About that feel… welll, I guess I feel like that about every fantasy book I read. I just can’t believe that stuff isn’t real.

    • Eleanor October 18, 2009 at 12:45 am #

      I do feel the same way about books, at least that they are real because they come alive to me. They are wonderful escapes.
      I hope you do get the book. It’s a lovely little story, very short, but the pictures are iconic.

  2. gaogao October 17, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    i LOVED der movie und der book ^^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

